A user invite will be send to the user with the given email. Both existing users and new users can be invited. Read more about inviting users.
If the invite is to join a Circle, the emails of existing users in the Site will be listed once the text field is clicked. Otherwise, any new emails can just be typed in.
Users will always be added to a Site even when they are invited to join a Circle.